Exclusive Interview with Anna Odobescu

I had the honour of interviewing the Moldovan representative of this year, Anna! A stunning singer with an equally amazing vocal talent, Anna gave us our third interview of this season. Let’s take a look at what she said about her Eurovision experience and what she hopes for as she heads to Tel Aviv.

Anna Odobescu Source: Eurovisionworld

“What Inspired your song; “Stay””

“”Stay” has a very clear and honest message… It’s about something that every single one of us has felt in our lives, at some point. Not wanting to give up, not caring about the consequences, just wanting to fight for the one you love. No matter the cost or the hurdles that might appear, you always need to fight. It came from personal experiences my writers have lived and the same experiences i have also lived in my life.. so the song felt like it was a part of me from the beginning.”

“Moldova have done some amazing work with their staging the last few years, do you also have a certain staging planned for Tel Aviv?”

“We have been talking with certain people who have approached us and some others we have approached, in order to present something unique on the stage of Tel Aviv. I cannot reveal anything specific, for now, but we’re planning something exciting… My country has done so well in the past two years, indeed, and our purpose for 2019 is to maintain the same level of professionalism. I want people to remember our entry not only for the moments i will be on stage, performing, but for years to come. I will give my all and sing my heart out for my nation and for every nation watching.”

“How do you feel performing at Eurovision in Concert last Saturday? Have you made friends with the artists?

” Oh that was an incredible experience for me… The energy I have received from the crowd was enormous and i have enjoyed it so very much! I was so happy to meet all the other contestants and also so many fans from all over Europe. It was so overwhelming… Hearing the crowd singing along to my song.. this is a one in a lifetime opportunity for me and i want to live this to its core.”

“If you’ve listened to any of the songs this year, do you have a particular favourite?”

“I have listened to all the songs of this year’s contest and i do have my own favourites… But i believe it’s best to keep them private, for now as i would really want to listen and watch them performed live so i get a better picture. One things for sure is that there is some amazing talent this year, and the variety of songs is also something that makes Eurovision 2019 the most exciting and colourful music event of the world.”

“Who/What inspired you to become a singer?”

“Ever since i was a child, I remember myself staying in my room, singing, performing in front of the mirror, imagining how my life would be, being a performer.. This was my life’s dream.. Listening to Ella Fitzgerald, Etta James and so many other unforgettable voices, I got truly inspired and so convinced that this is the path I wanna follow in life. I think that music chose me, in the end.”

“And finally: How has your Eurovision journey been? Have you had any particular high points?”

“It all started several months ago, when i decided to return to Moldova’s National Final.. last year I took part for the first time and i really enjoyed the experience. I told myself that I will return if i get the right song.. and it happened.. the preparation period was packed with work and focus on doing the very best, in order to make my dreams come true. When I won the selection, I was lost for words and the emotions were high and tense.. that was a moment that will stick in my heart and mind forever .. Knowing that all the hard work brought us the victory. The hard work carried on and still goes on because my goal is to be the best i can be in Tel Aviv. I never leave things to chance, I want to be in control and know that i have tried my very best to achieve my goals. I want to be able to deliver my 100% and this is what I will try to do! So “Stay” with me and I hope you will enjoy this as much as I do! Thank you for this interview and I hope to see you in all in Tel Aviv. Warm greetings and hugs!”

You can catch Anna perform her song “Stay” in the first half of the second semi final on the 16th May 2019. We wish Anna and The Moldovan team the very best of luck! You can also listen to her song below

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started